Tags

, , , , ,

Me & PhiaMy girl, 14, had a writing exercise last week in ELA (English Language Arts, don’t worry I didn’t know what that meant either) … she was given a poem skeleton and this is what she came up with … Pretty damn good!  Witty, poignant, truthful, age appropriate yet adult at the same time … Happy National Poetry Month!

If I Were in Charge of the World

By: Sophia Peluso

If I were in charge of the world,
I’d cancel idiots, homophobes, close-minded bigots,
ignorance, algebra,
Actually all math in general,
MySpace, Facebook,
and also allergies.

If I were in charge of the world,
There’d be shorter school days,
longer summers, unlimited phone
and laptop battery lives, more attractive people,
and kittens.

If I were in charge of the world,
You wouldn’t have bad hair days.
You wouldn’t have hashtags.
You wouldn’t have bad grammar.
Or “No you cannot punch he/she in the throat.”
You wouldn’t even have messy hand writing.

If I were in charge of the world,
Pizza would be a vegetable.
All zombie movies would be rated “G”,
and a person who gets moody,
and sometimes forgets to watch their mouth,
Would still be allowed to be in charge of the world.

What would it be like if you were in charge of the world?

~ Peace

