Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A Christmas tradition!  I used to spend an entire Saturday making ALL of the cookies with my Gram.  We made thumbprints, jelly bars, 3 or 4 different types of butter cookies … and kruschiki.  All recipes from her Mother,  my Mother’s Grandmother, and my Great Grandmother … Anna Grosz DeSanto.  I make them all now, well except the kruschiki, but I am going to try to perfect them for next year.

This year I am giving Nana D’s Thumbprint Cookies as gifts to my son’s team … 3 teachers, 2 therapists, bus driver and bus monitor … that is a lot of cookies and I am almost out of time … I should be baking NOT writing!  Had to share this recipe, so super easy … just don’t do what I did yesterday & double the butter and forget to double the flour … BAKE FAIL!

When I asked my Mom for the recipe this is what I got … it’s better than what I got when I asked for the Rich Cake recipe (save that for another day).   My only addition is a pinch of Kosher salt, baked goods always taste better with a pinch of salt.

Thumbprints (24)

Four ingredients (always the best quality you can get!) … and some decent jelly.  I make a special batch for The Chef with Monique’s Homemade Black Raspberry Jelly

Thumbprints (12)

Technique

  • Preheat Oven … I guessed at 350 and it seems to work just fine.
  • In a standing mixer cream together butter and sugar until light yellow and fluffy
  • Mix in egg yolks one at a time and add vanilla
  • Mix on medium speed until creamy
  • Slowly add the flour Do Not Over Mix
  • When the dough comes together,  scrape down the sides and turn it our onto a piece of plastic wrap
  • Seal up and let the dough rest in the fridge for at least an hour … makes it much easier to handle.

Thumbprints

This is a basic butter cookie recipe and can be made into any form … for the thumbprint cookies

  • Break off a small (teeny, tiny) piece of the chilled dough, roll into a ball and place about an inch apart on a baking sheet, indent each dough ball with … you guessed it … your THUMB
  • Fill each divot with a smidge of jelly, jam, preserves … any flavor will do.  I have used fig, apricot, raspberry, strawberry
  • Bake until “Golden Blonde”  (aprrox 12 minutes in my oven)

Note: Make sure your dough balls are tiny … look what you get if  your balls are too big, GIANT COOKIES!  Not that there is anything wrong with that, it’s just not how we do it ….

Thumbprints (13)

What are your Christmas traditions?  What smell makes you think .. “Oh Yeah, it’s Christmas”!

~ Peace

