Tags

, , , , ,

Last week I learned that I was not doing all I could do for my daughter … we travel, go to museums, watch Masterpiece Mystery and Downton Abbey together, always sigh over Mr. Darcy, eat nachos, and buy all of the good crap on the street in NYC … I thought I was covering the bases, raising a well rounded child; until she came she came to me with this quote from Easy A and said “Where do I know the name John Cusack from?” Quelle horreur!

 I want John Cusack holding a boom box outside my window.  I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey.  I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me.  I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me.  Just once I want my life to be an 80’s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for apparent reason.  But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life. 

I realized that I had screwed up … she doesn’t know Llyod, or Jake, or Bender … total Mom fail.  Together we have set out to remedy this … we watched The Breakfast Club together unCut, no “Flip You Dad!” the real deal, with the panty shot and all.  She loved it!  Made fun of the clothes, dug the music and tried desperately to figure out how it would end.

A summary of her thoughts (in her words) …

I actually really liked this movie, I was expecting it to be really cheesy. During the movie I kept a list of the characters that would be cute couples. I started out with Andy & Claire, obviously because it’s the jock and the prom queen!  But then farther into the movie I came up with Claire & Bender, Allison & Andy, and I didn’t know who Brian should have been with.  But, other than the couples, I really liked their background stories and learning why they were there and who they really are.

Now I wanna know what happened on Monday.  Did Andy even acknowledge Brian in the hallways?  Are Claire and Bender actually going to be a couple?  Is Allison over her “crazy” stage and falling in love with Andy?  What happens Mr. Vernon? So many questions …

My friends know that I have a soft spot for this movie, always have … see in high school I was a Bender girl through & through … but I married Brian, really!

My husband was constantly mistaken for Anthony Michael Hall during this period, there is even a group of 45 ish women someplace that think they had their picture taken with AMH in Rome’s Fiumicino Airport.  Sorry ladies it was just Danny.

Me & Danny 1993

Here is the list of films were are planning on watching and blogging about … anything I missed?  What is your favorite?  Who was your crush?

  • Sixteen Candles
  • Say Anything
  • Can’t Buy Me Love
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Weird Science
  • Some Kind of Wonderful
  • Better Off Dead

~ Peace

