Tags

, , , , ,

Martha wrote me and asked … 

” Hi.  Love your page and I have a question for someone with a more creative brain than I have. How does one store a spouse’s size 11 clod-hopping tennis shoes, dress shoes, boots in an old house with crummy storage options? I’ve got three over-the-door hangers that will hold every other shoe in the house (and some yarn and craft supplies) but they do not design these to hold men’s shoes and his shoes get lost in our deep closets. I’ve picked up five pairs this morning. “

I have the same problem … see!

The husband around here works in the out of doors … some heavy construction and always muddy … he has many, many shoes, and NEEDS them all for many different things (or so I am told).  I have tried a shoe rack on the floor of the closet, but no luck, the shoes are too big and the rack is too small … right now his “good” shoes are on the top shelf of the closet and the rest are there on the floor, so I am thinking we are going to go with a crate.

Here are a few things I found while trolling the web and Pinterest …

Who is gonna do this, right?  Then there is this really, really cool rack … but of course super $$$$

Ikea has a few, more affordable, options.  This one is $5.99 and without the typical slant there is a better chance that big shoes will stay put.

and this one is $50 … it is adjustable so can accommodate all sizes and shapes.

Now, as for the leaving them around the house … Beat him until he learns to put them away!  Seriously, what I have done is to try an think about routine, we have a chair and an old wine box by the front door … we come in and take off our shoes …

There are a million ways to keep your wearing them now shoes by the door …. trays, boxes, little benches with a shelf … this one is $59.99 also from Ikea …

For now this is where I am at with the closet …  I had the milk crate here, they don’t all fit, and I know they won’t stay so nicely lined up, but it’s a start.

Please please please follow up with us … send some pics so I can see what you have done to solve your shoe problem …

Keep the questions coming!  I dig this …

~ Peace

