Tags

, , , , , , ,

I spent the last couple of days catching up on my stuff (read – HOUSEWORK) bills, emails, phone calls, laundry, errands and food shopping.  I have been working a lot lately, THANK YOU!!!, and have not had any house time … I enjoy my house time.  Once all of my have-to’s are done I bake … baking relaxes me.  There is nothing better than my kids munching on something I made for them, or my husband (The Chef) enjoying a little treat after the kids go to bed 😉

I bought some strawberries (BOGO at Stop-n-Shop this week) … and I am making an Invertita (Italian for upside-down cake) … from a real cook book, Lydia’s Family Table, with dogeared pages, and even some sticky bits.  Lydia’s original recipe is Crostata Invertita with Rhubarb, but no one else but me likes rhubarb, OH WELL.

I have made this cake with pears (so good!), blueberries and lemon zest (even better), apples (not so much), and today I get to see if strawberries work … here we go …

Find the recipe …

Mise en place …

prep your pie plate … messy!

line with the fruit ….

pour batter over the fruit …

cool to room temp …

invertito su un piatto …

The Verdict … tasted great, needs some tweaking.  I am thinking less fruit next time, and I am going to try keeping the strawberries whole …

~ Bake

