Tags

, , , , ,

In the never ending battle with “The Wash” (is that a NY thing??) I attack, by staying one step ahead …

My family has paired down most everything, including our wardrobes … this means more frequent laundry.  We are four here and that means at least 6 loads a week ~ we have super size machines in our apartment building ~ if I had a regular home machine it would most likely be everyday …

My battle plan includes …

Separate Hampers … We have separate hampers for dryer and non-dryer loads; we “line dry” about 50% of our stuff, saving $.75 each load, as well as extending the life of our clothes.  I find it easier to grab and I usually, hopefully don’t throw my one really nice t shirt in the dryer.

AND … when people hear this they think I am nuts … again DUH! … I take my wash with me when I leave in the morning!  The wash comes with me to the car, then I have no reason not to do in when I come home, whenever that may be.

Yesterday I ran around like a crazy woman, totally forgot that I put the wash in the garage, when I finally got home, around 3:15,  there it was IN MY PARKING SPOT.  I had just enough time to throw in the 2 loads, get the little man from the bus, bring him up, snack, chuck it in the dryer, unload the dishwasher, Facebook and Tweet for a few … fetch it, fold it, put it away.

I know, I know .. you all have houses or don’t have machines at all and use the neighborhood laundry … if you are an apartment dweller like me, try my way.  House people can do something similar … what about leaving the wash in your own garage, or leave it where you will literally drive and/or trip over it … As for you neighborhood laudry folks ~ first I AM SOOO SORRY, been there done that and it sucks ~ it may be worth your while to arrange pick up and delivery services for your towels and sheets or at the very least drop off and pay by the pound … do a cost benefit analysis I think you will find it worth it …

~ Peace

