Tags

, , , , ,

Your home’s first defense against clutter … whether you are an apartment dweller like me, or have house with a mudroom, establishing what happens to your stuff the second it comes into your home is essential …

This is our “Landing Strip” …

It’s not much but it gets the job done … shoes in the box

and keys in the bowl …


I use our metal front door for day to day reminders, stuff that needs to go to out (mail, car, etc.) … there is a school calendar there for my little guy and we hang his art there too …

You have read my rules for mail before … in, sort, trash, act … as for school papers, the 13 year old is in charge of leaving things we need to see for school on the kitchen counter, and the little man and I go through his bag everyday after school together …

Here is an entire Pinterst Landing Strip Board … great ideas for hallways, mudrooms, etc.  Some small, super cute and efficient …

Some folks have enough room for Lockers …

And then there is the mudroom I did for my friend, and sometimes client, Monique. She has an entire room to land her family in!

Finally here is a silly little I wish I had thought of it video featured on Lifehacker … Use a Landing Strip to Keep Clutter from Invading Your Home …

~ Stop the Invasion

