Tags

, , , , , ,

My husband is the cook, as he was when he was my boyfriend, and when we were “friends” … for the last 20 years he has cooked almost every meal I have eaten (Thanks babe!)  He is a wonderful cook, he can pull a meal together practically out of nowhere, bake amazing bread and homemade pizza … but he cannot bake sweets.  So me being the yin to his yang, I do the baking.  I dig the preciseness that baking requires, and I am learning to trust my skills more and more with each attempt.

To my delight and amazement, I have a few recipes that I am known for, this one especially …  yes that is all that is left of it, I forgot to take a pic the other night when we had the unexpected guest that inspired this post …

This Yogurt Almond Cake ~ thanks to a post on Design Sponge ~ has become one of my go to desserts.   It is super easy, can be put together at the last minute, no need for softened butter or any specialty ingredients really, and 9 times out of 10 I have everything I need to make it on hand.  It can be eaten plain, as we did this week, with whipped cream, with some really good ice cream or the blood orange curd called for in the original.

A simple, yet impressive dessert, inspired by the web ~ how modern.

~ Simply Sweet

