Tags

, , , , , ,

We recently bought a new house and the former owner left everything, EVERYTHING!

YAY we didn’t have to buy furniture to fill it! DAMN, now I’m dealing with not only my own crap, but someone else’s crap as well.

My first priority was the kitchen.  I despise unnecessary kitchen gadgets.  In cleaning out the cabinets, I found 3 coffee makers, 4 blenders, countless pots, pans, mugs, glasses and about 30 vases.  It was easy to make the decision to donate the coffee pots, blenders, pots, pans, extra glasses and mugs, but I was wasn’t sure what on earth to do with all the vases.  Since I’m an avid SbS reader I decided to try to repurpose what I could and donate the rest.

The house has a wall of bookshelves.  We had plenty of books but not enough to fill all of the shelves.  I put some of the vases on the shelves and considered buying silk flowers to fill them, but I’m not really a silk flower type of girl.  The vases sat empty. One day I ended up throwing all the supermarket super balls in one of the vases so I could vacuum, and realized I liked the look.  I needed bookends and the vases of super balls served that purpose.  I felt so Sara.  I spent the next couple of days corralling other items to fill the vases so I could create more bookends.

Here’s what I came up with …

As for the extra toilet paper holder, I wish I could take credit for that but the idea came from a magazine.

What items do you have in excess? What do you have that can serve a duel purpose?

~ Claire

