Tags

, , ,

For better or worse, I throw everything away; just ask my former roommate. Well maybe what I should say is I USED to throw everything away, but then I got married and had kids and suddenly everything became a memento. There has to be some sort of happy medium between purging and keepsakes and I’m trying to find that balance.

Here are my thoughts on paper clutter.

Kids’ Art Work – ADORABLE! Save it for a year (I choose plastic containers) reevaluate what’s worth keeping and what’s junk. Anything with food glued to it is junk. When you have found your keepsake either take a digital picture or if it’s standard letter size put them in a binder with page protectors.

School papers – Letters, flyers and old homework otherwise known as the bane of my existence.

Flyers – I cut them in half and use the back for scrap paper. As much as I would like to go fully digital, there is nothing as glaringly in your face as written to do or shopping list.
Letters – back to the binder. Any piece of paper that I’ll need to refer back to I place in a binder dedicated to the child that it came home with.
Homework & Essays – believe it or not, I save some old homework. Again, I place it the binder dedicated to each child. I think it’s nice for kids to look back and see what they have accomplished over the course of the year.
I go through the binders and containers the following year since I’m constantly reevaluating what to keep and what to purge.

I’d love to say that I deal with school papers on a daily basis, but the truth of the matter is Friday is my paper day. The paper sits in a re-purposed wine box until Friday.

My next project is to scan the “keep” and make each child a “my school year” photo book. Check in with me in the spring and see if it actually gets accomplished!

