Tags

, , , , ,

Part of having an organized & well stocked kitchen here means taking the time to make what we can from scratch.  It is cheaper and always tastes better …

Every week I make 6 quarts of chicken stock for soups, sauces, and chicken salad for lunches.  The prep time is about 15 minutes and cooks for 2 hours mostly unattended.  I freeze the leftover stock in ice cube trays at the end of the week to use when we are not so organized, which happens here too.


Chicken Stock

  • 1 quartered chicken (rinsed)
  • 3 ribs of celery roughly chopped
  • 1 large carrot roughly chopped
  • 1 large yellow onion roughly chopped
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Pinch of Herb de Provence
  • 6 quarts (ish) of water

There is also always unsweetened iced tea in our fridge … ALWAYS! I don’t drink soda, and really never keep it in the house, so we have iced tea and an assortment of juices and sugar syrups on hand.  I like mango juice in my tea, hubby likes half lemonade half tea and the daughter likes sugar … In case you have never made a large batch of iced tea, bring 1 gallon of water to a rolling boil, remove heat, put in tea bags and steep for about 20 minutes depending on how you like your tea … I like mine with some gusto. It is definitely cheaper than keeping Snapple on hand and so much healthier than that yucky powder we grew up with …

Iced Tea

  • 1 gallon of tap water
  • 14 tea bags

I have been doing this for a while now and it is part of my routine.  The slight, and I mean slight, inconvenience is nothing compared to the money savings …

~ Preparation

