Tags

, , , , ,

My good friend Monique, of Becker Window Fashions, asked me to give a hand with their family’s back room.  It had become a non-functioning catch all and they needed it to be a play area for their 2 boys, a pantry and the family entrance.  Here are the project obstacles, they live in Gilbertsville, PA and I am here in good ole Yonkers, NY … about 125 miles apart and in keeping with my philosophy we had to re-use and or re-purpose most of the exiting items in the room.  So here is how we did it…

  • The man of the house is an engineer, so I got an accurate floor plan to work with (Floor Plan).
  • Monique and I had a  phone call,  she sent me a bunch of pictures of the space, an idea of  what she wanted and her budget.
  • I did some research, sent her some pics of ultimate spaces.  You know some Real Simple Mudrooms, and a Martha pantry.  She was pleased with the look and functionality, so I set about to find the Simplify way to do … Big impact, small money!
  • I came up with a  layout for the space using the existing furniture and rugs to divide the areas, decided that one of the 3 shelving units in the room could be moved to the cellar, and that we must use the great hand-me-down love seat (from Grandma) for the kids TV and gaming space and the rest would be simple de-clutter and cleaning.
  • I had an idea to use a 5 x 1 Ikea Expedit shelving unit on its side and Drona storage boxes as the entry way bench
  • I put together a plan of attack for the stuff, made a rough sketch of the layout, created a shopping list and sent it off …

Since we are so far apart I could not be there to do the heavy work, Ed had to do that, but I helped step by step with the space via email & phone and am so very happy that I was able to give the Beckers the space they needed.  Can’t wait to come for a visit!

Here are the before and after shots of the room.  Monique is still working on the cushion for the entry bench.  Once the bench has its cushion and maybe the bench a few legs, I think we are going to submit it to Ikea Hacker

