I really like nothing more than to find something I want FOR FREE!

When we first moved into our 1950s concrete box of a co-op (with an incredible view of the Palisades and Hudson River) we renovated everything we needed to.  As the money started to dry up and my amazement at the price of things continued to grow there were a few things we had to settle on … no concrete counter tops YET, no stainless steal surround for the stove, peel & stick tile on the kitchen floor and a $29.99 medicine cabinet.  I really wanted was a huge mirrored “vintage” looking medicine cabinet but alas it was not to be … then last week I saw 1 in the building’s trash … no one was looking so I dove in and got it!  Some elbow grease, a bit of scraping and a coat of paint and I got just what I wanted.  The mirror has a view voids and the shelves are not original but I saved it from the landfill and I love it!

Right now downstairs in our garbage area there are 6 Ikea dresser drawers, a nice section of 1950s aluminium kitchen cabinet with a counter top and a printer … I hate to see useful things go to waste, so let me know if you are interested & I’ll send a pic …

Oh and I thought you might like to see my view ….

The View

