Tags

, , , , ,

This is my Uncle Joe, and The Muppets, he died in 2002.  His obit says … ” Joseph “JJ” DeSanto would say he was a carpenter when in fact he was a Master Craftsman. “  

We, my brother & I,  would say that he was a son, brother, husband, father, step-father, uncle and our GREAT Uncle …  he was a master carpenter, set builder, volunteer, FISHERMAN, a picker, and probably a little bit of a hoarder … but man did he hoard some great stuff!

My brother inherited all of Uncle Joe’s stuff … I think the final count was 4 or 5 store rooms of tools, props, books, odds, ends, bits & pieces … He never slowed down, and right up until the end he was collecting, building, volunteering at The Irvington Town Hall Theater, fishing, traveling, and smiling!

So here we are, almost 10 years later, and we are finally getting to the nitty and the gritty of his stuff … my brother has his own home now, and can finally make the decisions (with my help of course) about what he wants to keep, what to share with friends, and family and what to sell …

The Spring SbS Porch Sale is an Ode to Uncle Joe … parts of this sale will not be for the faint of heart.  You have to have the gift, the gift to see the beauty and potential in things … here are some examples of things from Uncle Joe that I think are beautiful …

Fire Place Door

A Book Press

Hooks … Meat & Ice

Tools, and a even a few more tools … old, newer, some well loved, some still in boxes, some rusty and beautiful, some that could go right from our porch to your workshop …

Some stuff is just plain useful …

So, what do you think … Do you have the gift?  Are you a “Picker”?  Come and find out … come celebrate my Uncle Joe, and give new life to his stuff.

~ Peace

